Skip to content

Silk Screen Printmaking 2013

December 10, 2013
Roadtrip 1 Silkscreen Print Maria Mago 08/09/2013

Roadtrip 1
Silkscreen Print
Maria Mago
08/09/2013

On my road trips to the Atherton Tablelands in country Cairns, I discovered each time that visually and spiritually I was connecting, vast landscape in the mountain ranges were all new for me, I was eager to go on my photograph journeys every second weekend or if time was constrained at least once a month. Initially researching the country markets for future platforms to sell my ceramic wares, I developed such a love of the undiscovered towns of Cairns.

I felt as though I was on an adventure and these secret pleasures of discovery uncovered an excitement for future developments within printmaking and ceramic production. I found little pockets of places where I would stop to enjoy a coffee, afternoons looking for ghosts in old hotels and pubs, flowers that bloomed high in the mountain ranges,  colours of sunrises and sunsets th and colours of the earth and trees that would find me hours in the studio mixing the right green of gumtrees or blue sky,  either early morning or afternoon, grey skies that enhanced all the grey blue gums of the bush…

114

Birthday Bovine
15/09/2013

029

15/09/2013

108

Atherton Tablelands
12/08/2013

Yungaburra Hotel

Yungaburra Hotel

Yungaburra Hotel

Yungaburra Hotel

Atherton Shaylee Strawberry Farm

Atherton
Shaylee Strawberry Farm

Yungaburra Whistle Stop Cafe

Yungaburra
Whistle Stop Café

I found symbolism within the roadmarkings, I was always coming or going using this as a metaphor of my story, developing this as the basis I utilised the geometric shapes that lingered on my solo adventures discovering my country, my home.

Road Trip Series Bovine Maria Mago 2013

Road Trip Series
Bovine
Maria Mago 2013

Road Trip #1 Maria Mago 2013

Road Trip Series Sunny Happy People  Maria Mago 2013

Road Trip Series
Sunny Happy People
Maria Mago 2013

 

©All images remain as property @marikaceramics. ©Design and concept elements remain as intellectual property @marikaceramics as per copyright laws.©

From → Printmaking

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

