Skip to content

Handbuilt Vintage Cups

April 14, 2013
teacup

handbuilt stoneware. Using all my leftover clay to create some handbuilt cups. using old crotchet doilies to imprint the clay. Cant wait to see them fired and glazed!

I have enrolled in Tafe this year studying Refined Wheel Throwing. I found I had so much left over clay from previous wheelthrowing excercises that I decided to reconstitue all my leftover clay to create some handbuilt cups. Using old crotchet doilies to imprint the clay , I can’t wait to see them fired and glazed!

work's in Progressthe construction zone…

Porcelain

Porcelain

I was drinking many a cup of coffee producing these cups and was annoyed that while working each piece, living in Cairns I have ceiling fans on the go, my coffee would get cold fast, so what about a lid for them! great idea for tea seeping as well I thought and the lids seem to finish them off perfectly.

teacup
Stumpy teacup, hoping I can get them through the kiln before Mothers Day. These are at their raw stage and yet to be cleaned up. I love working with Handbuilt ceramics. I found a great tutorial on Ceramic Arts Daily with ceramic artist Sandi Petrozzini. She makes it look so easy, the first few were a little struggle, but as all potters you keep going with the excitement of the next one gets better and then you have a perfect cup!

Paperclay saucer and stoneware cup

I found a bag of Earthernware paperclay, printed a doily onto it and started to create 20 saucers. Paperclay is so light and I always wanted to make a “Picnic Set”.

Mad Hatter teacup set

Mad Hatter’s Tea Set

One of four in a set. I will have to wait to see how the firing process will treat them and if they are light enough for garden tea parties…..

Teacup with LidCup with Lid

Teacups with lids, the doily prints look great on the cups, even though they are slab formed and are thick walled for sturdiness in construction, the doilies add a delicate feel..

All images remain as property @marikaceramics. Design and concept elements remain as intellectual property @marikaceramics as per copyright laws.

3 Comments
  1. These are divine! I love working with doilies and other materials as well.
    Row

Leave a Reply

